Newtownards District LOL no. 4

The governing body of 12 Orange lodges in Newtownards, County Down

Total Abstainers LOL 991

This lodge was formed in 1895 with James Green of Milecross Road as its first Worshipful Master. It replaced an older Total Abstainers Lodge LOL 1949 which disappeared in 1883.

The 12th of July 2006 was to be the last for LOL 991, who decided to hand in their lodge warrant due to dwindling numbers. The lodge operated in the town for one hundred and eleven years and contributed much to the local District. The lodge members are pictured below at their last meeting in early July.

Members of the lodge on 6th July 2006. Back row – Noel McGimpsey, Robert Brown, Clifford Barton (DDM No.4), Alec McGimpsey. Front row – Frank Algie, Mervyn McGimpsey (WM), David McGimpsey


year unknown
banner unfurling, year unknown
Create your website with
Get started